Skip to content

my birthday week

May 27, 2010

This week I am celebrating 26 years. I like thinking of it as my birthday week…it gives me an excuse to take it easy and splurge a little on myself here and there. Even though I’ve had to work, it still has felt like a week off in many ways.

To begin with, I’ve spent a good part of every evening relaxing on the couch, watching the finales to two of my favorite TV shows. I rarely do that. I’ve also put in a few movies just because I can.

I ordered Pei Wei to go the other evening…while shopping at Target. A good friend/co-worker took me out for a birthday lunch yesterday at one of my favorite places. Another good friend/co-worker and I stopped for a sno-cone after work yesterday. It’s the little things  and I feel like my birthday week is a good reason to celebrate those little things.

Friday is my birthday dinner with my family. Mom has a great dinner planned – grilling out on my parent’s new, covered porch and enjoying the beautiful, hot weather. I love it. I wanted shish kabobs. Those sound so good right now. Saturday I’m looking forward to a matinée with Mom and laying by the pool soaking up the sun. It’s the little things.

Sometimes it’s the bigger things to, I will admit. Soon I will be flying away. I love the thought. NYC here I come. Can’t wait. First stop, 5th Avenue. Yes, sometimes it’s the bigger things. In all reality I guess the little things make up the bigger things and I am thankful. This is the trip of a lifetime for me. I say that every trip I take, but it is no less true this time.

When I think about turning 26 I would be lying if I said it didn’t scare me a little. I have heard all of the “oh, 26 is so old” and “whatever” responses when I admit to that out loud. I understand. I know that 26 really isn’t that old in the scheme of things. I guess what scares me is how fast the last 26 years have gone by…and how fast I know the next 26 will go by. Too fast. I only hope that I move forward – in my walk with the Lord, in my relationships, in meeting my goals, in becoming the person I should be – in the bigger things and the little things alike. I know it is easier said than done.

I am determined to give it my best shot. Here’s to another 26 years!

2 Comments
  1. I didn’t realize your birthday was this week…Happy, Happy Birthday!!! 26 is great…you’ll love it!

    NYC sounds awesome. I’m happy for you. Have fun…maybe we can do something when you get back…I’d love to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

