Skip to content

facebook revelation

June 9, 2010

“We’re up to our ears in social networking…in touch with a hundred [people] yet especially close to none. We can’t figure out for the life of us why we fight this looming cloud of loneliness. We know we should be happier and wonder why we’re not. Most of the time we have no idea we are scrambling to play our part in a make-believe world.” ~Beth Moore, “So Long, Insecurity”

I was planning to make a quick post on the subject of social networking – specifically on the fact that I deleted my Facebook account – when I came across this quote while reading on my lunch hour. It stood out to me because it resonated strongly with my soul.

Although the idea of  “pseudo-connection” is not the only reason I closed my Facebook account, it certainly was a major factor. I had been mulling it over for a while. It was a nagging thought – this idea that I may have dozens of “friends” on Facebook and waste countless minutes each day following the latest status updates, bending my brain to come up with something witty to post myself, get birthday greetings and group invitations and “likes” and still not really be connected to anyone.  The more I thought about it, the more the sense of pseudo-connection grew. I couldn’t shake it.

I agree that social networking sites can be great tools to reach the masses or even catch up with an old friend from highschool, but as far as being the source of the true connection that (at one time) was synonymous with the meaning of “friend” (defined in the Merriam-Webster dictionary as: one attached to another by affection or esteem, a favored companion) they are sadly lacking.

I came to the point where I realized that all of the people I truly call friends I connect with outside of Facebook on a regular basis. We talk face-to-face or on the phone. There were many people on my “friends” list who I had not spoken to in a very long time – if I even had at all. There was no connection. Just a pseudo-connection.

So, please don’t think I have blocked you or “unfriended” you if you can’t find me on Facebook anymore. I deleted my account and I have not looked back. I have not missed it at all. I don’t feel any less connected. If anything, I feel more connected because I know that the connections I do have are real.

 This was my Facebook revelation.

P.S. For a Facebook-related laugh, go here. Scroll down to the second Tuesday, June 8th post titled “Andy & Janelle – Facebook Theater”. I laughed until I cried.

From → Personal

2 Comments
  1. good for you! I totally understand where you are coming from…but am not quite ready to delete my account yet. Maybe I’m just snoopy, but I enjoy seeing people’s photos, and for me, the events aspect has been handy for various things. I have gone though and pared down my friends list a bit (do I really want everyone in the world seeing all my photos/stuff?) hope nobody got offended…

    It’s such a big time waster too…sometimes I think I need to get rid of if just from the time standpoint!

  2. Yes – I agree Jessica! A time waster was another big reason I deleted my account. I’m just not that self-disciplined. Everyone’s gotta do what they gotta do, but I have just felt such a peace about it.

Leave a Reply

