Skip to content

nyc: day 3

June 10, 2010

Day 3 in NYC was sleepy and lazy for me. At least, that is how I felt. It seemed silly to want to hole up in the hotel when we were in an amazing city like NYC. I guess I wasn’t feeling 100% either. It was a slower day all around and we didn’t have much of an agenda. It was kind of nice. I saw it as a chance to just live – to just spend a low-key, some what normal day in NYC.

We did a little more shopping, went back up to Times Square, decided to see a movie and then decided not to see a movie, got lunch and found a beautiful park smack-dab in the middle of a block of high-rise buildings. It was nice to sit and relax, eat a simple but amazing lunch and then just people watch. They had ping-pong tables set up at the edge of the park near us and two separate groups were playing. There were two men playing a strange game with a small, silver ball in a sand pit that looked like where you would play horse shoes. We passed some older gentlemen deeply engrossed in a game of chess. People were reading, talking, working on laptops, even napping. This was a totally unexpected aspect of NYC for me. I guess the people there crave to be outside in nature and take full of advantage of it in any way they can.

After the park, we made our way back to the hotel, took a nap, got all dressed up and then headed out for dinner and a show.

 

We had an amazing dinner at Bar Americain. It is an amazing, Casablanca-esque restaurant owned by Bobby Flay. I had very few “I-have-to-do-this” requests for the trip, but that was one of them. I had to eat at one of Bobby Flay’s restaurants. He is my one and only Food Network crush. So, eat we did. Rib-eye steak that literally melted in my mouth, wonderful, fresh lobster with butter sauce, creamy, brown sugary sweet potato au gratin and french fries with a special dip. I wish I could relive that dinner. It was everything I hoped it would be.

Unfortunately we don’t have any pictures of dinner or the show because we were under the impression we couldn’t take cameras into the theater. We knew we wouldn’t have time to walk all the way back to the hotel before the show, so we left our cameras in the room. But I have amazing memories none the less. The show was sold out. We were six rows from the front. The singing, the acting, the sets…it was wonderful! It was! I know I don’t have visual proof, but you’ll just have to take my word for it.

4 Comments
  1. Your pictures are amazing! I made it my goal to celebrate my birthday in New York this year, didn’t quite make it. But I do plan on making it to the Big Apple. Just being there among the grand buildings and the shopping!! Beyond exciting! Thanks for sharing your trip.

    • When you do go, I know you will have a blast! I certainly did and I hope to go back. My favorite day of the trip is next 😉

  2. So, a few days ago I was like what is Hannah up to… so I went to find you amongst my friends on facebook and realized you were no longer there! 😦
    So I hoped over to your blogspot and found that you now had a wordpress! You busy girl you! 😀

    Hope you’re doing well there in OKC! So, glad to see that you and you mother had a great time in NYC! Can’t wait to see your next post!

    Blessings!
    Sara

    • Hey, Sara! It’s good to “see” you! 🙂 Yes, I quit the crazy FB world. I love my wordpress and it certainly keeps me busy enough. Hope you are doing well!

Leave a comment