Skip to content

healing for the soul

June 12, 2010

Gardening is healing for the soul. I’m not sure who originally penned those words. Perhaps I just did, but – either way – I really believe it is true. I won’t claim to have a “green thumb”. It’s kind of hit and miss, but I do enjoy trying to grow things. It’s soothing to me – digging my hands in the moist dirt, watering carefully, anticipating growth.

Right now I have basil, rosemary and peppermint on our little patio table. I have two planters hanging off our patio railing holding petunias, Vinca and what I like to call my “desert flower”. It sort of has succulent leaves and pretty, multi-colored papery blooms. I’m not sure of its name. I have a larger petunia hanging up above. It seems to be doing well. But does anybody know what it means when the blooms that are supposed to be a purplish-magenta color bloom green on the tips?

A good friend gave me a Citronella candle in a pretty blueish-brown pot. It found a place on our metal shelf in between our Cyclamen and Impatiens. It all looks quite nice. I love to sit out there on a Saturday morning and enjoy the sun falling under the bamboo shade through the patio railing and sip my coffee. I love being able to walk out and snip off fresh herbs. I was thinking I might try my hand at homemade pesto sometime next week. Anyone know a good place to buy pine nuts? I looked at Target and couldn’t find any.

Speaking of Target, their produce is really good right now. I think it’s just the summer season because all my favorite fruits and veggies are decently priced. I got some red cherries, white peaches, strawberries and limes. I also picked up avocados, tomatoes on the vine, mini-multicolored peppers and a spaghetti squash. Oh, wow. Lydia made spaghetti squash with a creamy cheese sauce and fresh basil. It was the best dish ever! We both can’t wait to do some more dishes with this amazing squash that really doesn’t taste like squash. Love it. Any spaghetti squash recipes are welcome.

Today has been a good Saturday. Just what a Saturday should be. I slept until I woke up, had my coffee and Bible study on the patio, made it to Lowes and Target before the crowds, unpacked the groceries while sampling the red cherries, did some gardening out on the patio, painted my toes…with more fun to come! The day is still young 😉

I think that if ever a mortal heard the voice of God it would be in a garden at the cool of the day.  ~F. Frankfort Moore, A Garden of Peace

From → Personal, Photography

2 Comments
  1. Becky permalink

    Loved your post, especially the quote at the end. I used it as my Facebook status! Haha! Luv ya!

Leave a Reply

