Skip to content

explore. dream. discover.

June 24, 2010

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do… Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

I came across that quote in my textbook for my Digital Photography class. I liked it right away. The focus is on now and what will be, not on the past. And I crave reminders to explore, dream and discover. It’s like I need permission or something. Permission to think outside of the box, try something new or mix up my routine. I don’t want to miss it – don’t want to miss life – because I’m too afraid to go beyond what the Doubting Thomas in my head says is possible. Who can really say what is possible and what is not?

Speaking of trying something new… I tried Yoga for the first time this week. I found a class at a quiet, little studio near us and I just went. Well, I almost didn’t. For some stupid reason I started freaking out a few hours before and started thinking that maybe I wouldn’t. But I did and I really, really liked it. I even get a discount for being a grad student. I can pay as I go, no contracts. That’s a huge thing right there, but it was really enough just to drive away after class with the satisfaction of having tried something new. My own little step to explore more, dream more and discover more.

On Tuesday I had fun making dinner. I recently started buying Tilapia and I love it! It is a nice alternative to chicken. I grilled it with fresh lemon juice, olive oil and some Greek seasoning and it was delicious! I had it over couscous (which is insanely easy to make) with a side of grilled broccoli. I also made this amazing salad that I found in the latest edition of InStyle. It was one of those times we had all the ingredients on hand: sweet baby watermelon, a juicy vine-ripened tomato, gorgonzola and basil & mint growing wild on our patio. It was so refreshing!

Watermelon – Tomato Salad

4 lb. seedless watermelon, cut into 1 inch cubes
3 large heirloom/roma/vine-ripened tomatoes, cut into 1 inch cubes
6 oz feta or gorgonzola cheese
2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 cup fresh basil leaves
1/4 cup fresh mint leaves
Salt & Pepper
Toss all ingredients together in a large bowl. Season with salt & pepper to taste. Serve chilled.
I had to take some shots for an assignment in my photography class, so I headed to downtown Norman. I bummed around the old train depot and ended up getting a series of shots that I really liked. I used a vintage action on them to give them more of a…well…vintage feel.
There is nothing like standing on a train platform while a train blasts through the station at full throttle. When the train is just about to pass you, the whole world seems to freeze. Just for a brief second. Sound stops. The air is totally still. And then – bam – it’s like the train engine blasts through an invisible wall and the whistle is blowing so loud it hurts your ears and a giant wave of air hits you with a rush. It takes your breath away. Pretty cool.
Today I am sore from my initial foray into the world of Yoga. I venture to guess I will be even more sore tomorrow. That’s just how my body works. We’ll see. For now, I’m going to eat my Sun Chips and get ready for my evening job. I’ll worry about tomorrow, tomorrow. But I just can’t get those words out of my head…or my heart: explore. dream. discover.
4 Comments
  1. Wow, that qoute is great~ Thanks for sharing the great reminder! I love, love, love those pictures, and the description you gave of standing on a train platform… sounds great!

    Blessings,
    Lydia

    P.S Please feel free to comment, and become a follower on my blog~
    http://www.livinglife4jesuschrist.blogspot.com

  2. Good for you for jumping into something new! I’m the same way…I often doubt myself and end up talking myself out of doing something new, but I’ve realized that when I just jump in and do it anyway, I never regret it. I know I’ve missed out on a lot of life because of self-doubt and I do regret that!

    I do want to hang out again soon, but my schedule has been really, really crazy lately. Can we maybe talk about it again after Jessica’s wedding? I’m making some of the bridesmaid dresses and that’s keeping me busy.

    • I know. I’ve missed out on a lot, too. BUT we still have today, right now and that’s exciting to me. Anything is possible!

      I am really flexible, Jessica, so don’t worry about it at all! After the wedding sounds great. Sounds like you’re busy 😉 I’ll look forward to spending time with you!!!

Leave a Reply

