Skip to content

take your vitamins and eat your pizza

July 15, 2010

Uninspired is how I have felt lately. So, this post is going to be a compilation of random thoughts and events that have taken place over the last week. I guess that is just about what my life is right now – a random compilation. I’m not sure that is a bad thing. There is routine and a fairly even sense of consistency that strings the days together, but the random enters to mix things up.

Like last Wednesday when I came down with some sort of strange illness. I can’t even describe it accurately. The closest thing I can compare it to is the 7th season of 24 when Jack Bauer is exposed to that virus/radiation stuff and he has random attacks, counteracted only by giving himself an injection with a needle the size of a caulk gun. Well, at least that’s how I how remember it.

And that’s how I felt on Wednesday. My body ached all over, I had chills and then fever, I couldn’t move or even chew (imagine) without severe pain up and down my spine. My eyes felt extremely heavy. I thought I was going to die. So, I ordered a personal pan pizza and cheesy breadsticks from Pizza Hut (this was before I realized that I couldn’t chew without debilitating pain). Did you know you can place delivery orders online? You don’t even have to talk to anyone! Well, except for the delivery guy. I wonder if he thought I had that crazed, Jack Bauer-ish look when I answered the door? Oh, well. I just wanted sustenance. I hadn’t eaten much that day and I have this strange belief that food is the answer to all of life’s illnesses. Then I tried to chew my pizza.

Anyway, I survived (obviously) and have only had a few partial relapses. I have counteracted these with plenty of sleep, vitamins and – what else – good food. These approaches are way better than a needle the size of a caulk gun…at least in my estimation.

My summer classes are almost over! Next Wednesday is my last day. Then I will have four weeks off before my fall semester starts. Wow. I know those weeks are going to fly by. I can’t believe it. At least, with these summer classes behind me, I will have earned 24 of the 39 credit hours I need to graduate. That makes me pretty excited when I think about it.

I took a long lunch last Thursday to go out to Mom and Dad’s. I had a photography assignment due and they are always willing subjects. Ruby is, too. She even smiled for the camera.

She’s not necessarily smiling today though. She is at the doggy chiropractor. She keeps pinching a nerve in her neck (at least, that’s our diagnosis). The vet couldn’t find anything wrong with her, so the chiropractor was the next option. We’ll see if it works. It makes me want to laugh and I only wish that I could be there to see her get adjusted. Ruby is not necessarily the easiest going dog in the world. She is small though, so that helps. She is easily controlled 😉

From → Personal, Photography

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

