Skip to content

just stuff, just because

July 27, 2010

Life is a string of summertime days right now. The normal routine mixed with a little bit of random, as always. My summer classes are complete. They kind of just phased out at the end, so there was no big, final push really. Not like in the last two semesters. It was just a slow ending. Lydia and I did go out and celebrate. I wanted BBQ so we went to Earl’s. We did some window shopping and then went to Il Dolce. Always a good choice.

These summer classes were the fastest six credits I’ve earned since working on my undergrad. It felt good. Twenty-three down, just 15 more to go. My fall classes start in less than four weeks. Crazy. I feel ready and then I don’t 😉 But it will be good. I can hardly imagine once I am finished with my fall semester…how that will feel…how quickly the last two classes will go…what it will be like to stand there on graduation day.

My goal is to go to my commencement in Virginia Beach. I didn’t have a highschool graduation ceremony – probably because I was the only American home schooled, high schooler graduating in Naples, Italy in 2001. I didn’t attend my undergrad ceremony either. It was just too far at that time and I watched it by webcast instead. So, I really would like to go to my commencement ceremony next May. I think it would be awesome. And Virginia Beach wouldn’t be a half bad place to visit either 😉

Here is a quick and easy recipe for a delicious summer dish:

Caprese Salad at it’s best (well, unless you’re actually eating it at an out-of-the-way restaurante in Italy…then it’s just better than the best).

Ripe tomatoes (any kind)

Fresh mozzarella

Fresh basil

Olive Oil

Salt & Pepper to taste

Slice the tomatoes, lay them on a plate or serving platter. Slice mozzarella and place on top of the tomatoes (or visa versa). Place a piece of basil on top of each tomato/mozzarella combo or slice the basil and sprinkle over the top. Drizzle the whole plate with olive oil and add salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy!

I saw this little guy last Sunday morning while I was drinking my coffee on the patio before church. You can barely see him, but he’s there. I loved how delicate the web was…almost didn’t even notice it.

From → Personal, Recipes

3 Comments
  1. Lydia permalink

    Only 15 more credits!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. I’m wondering if the idea for Caprese Salad came from a little pizza place called Luna Caprese, in Ercolano. My wife and I and our three kids ate there this past March, and we’re still talking about the food. Your photo brings back great memories (the salad, not the spider).

    I like your post. You’re a good writer. Good luck with the rest of those credits.

    • Well, it came from several different places because we had a few places we enjoyed. I don’t believe we were ever at Luna Caprese though…sounds like a place we would like though!

      Thanks for your encouragement and well wishes. Stop by anytime.

Leave a Reply

