Skip to content

a watermelon on a bench

July 28, 2010

I have seen many strange things even in my relatively short life. Many strange things. In fact, I have a propensity for not only seeing strange things, but having strange things happen to me. Like my Purple People Eater experience. Or like my Wal-Mart experience. Or like locking my keys in my car twice in the last two weeks. But maybe that last one isn’t strange. Maybe it’s just stupid.

Anyways…today one of my bosses and I were walking up to the office and, low and behold, there was a very large watermelon sitting on the bench to the left of the office door. I thought it was strange when I saw it. And in this day and age you never know… Could it be a watermelon bomb? Could the stem be the “pin” like on a grenade? (That last one wasn’t my original thought – that was from a lady who works across the hall)

But, truly, I guess you never know. We reported it and finally figured out that someone else who works in the building had left it there because she didn’t want to take it down to her office. I don’t know, but I think that explanation is stranger (more strange?) than the watermelon being on the bench in the first place. Sometimes the conditions are just right, I guess. Maybe that’s what happens on these days when I experience such strange events. Unseen forces combine, ignite and – BAM – strange things happen.

Like last week when I was driving to work and fog started coming out of my AC vents. Are you kidding me?!?! I thought it was smoke at first, but there was no smell. I shut the AC off, turned it back on and still there were clouds of fog puffing out the vents.

I was on the phone with Mom and she said, “Well, you know fog is formed when the dew point is such and such…”

And I said, “And what are the odds of that happening? The conditions being just right for fog to start pouring out of my AC vents?”

Maybe that happens to people everywhere on a normal morning commute, but it’s never happened to me before. That makes it a strange event in my book. Almost as strange as finding a watermelon on the bench outside my office door.

*Image via Google Images

From → Personal

4 Comments
  1. Lydia permalink

    ….a cricket hit me in the ankle while I was walking the other day….

  2. Amy permalink

    … a cricket flew into our car, bounced off people’s heads and stomachs (losing its legs in the process) before finally landing inside my sister’s crayon box. 😛

    Enjoyed reading about your trip, Hannah! 🙂

    ~Amy

Leave a Reply

