Skip to content

phoenix trip 2010

August 22, 2010

(These were taken right after a large bug flew into Mom and she screamed like a little girl 😉 We couldn’t stop laughing)

(These are images from our trip up to Sandia Peak outside Albuquerque. It was just about 70F at the top and we ate dinner overlooking the valley)

So, this is our trip to Phoenix. We stopped overnight in Albuquerque on the way there to break up the 14 hour drive. We saw so much beautiful country going and coming. The first day of driving I didn’t really do much besides look out the window. I love that part about road trips – just looking out the window at the passing scenery, thinking, imagining and taking it all in. This was my the last major trip for 2010 and I didn’t want to miss a minute 😉

I didn’t really take many pictures during our week-long stay at the Hyatt Regency Resort in Scottsdale (just outside Phoenix). Our days consisted of sleeping in, eating delicious, European-style breakfasts, spending time in the sun & pool for several hours, going back to our rooms to shower and relax (well, Mom and I relaxed while Dad and Lydia went to the gym ;)) and then heading to dinner.

We ate at two of the resort restaurants, one a Southwest style and one Italian (we celebrated Mom’s birthday there and it was a lot of fun), as well as a Mexican restaurant off the resort (the night we went it rained almost 1 inch in less than 30 minutes – a deluge – and I had to run from the car to the restaurant in bare feet because the sandels I wore had cloth insoles – fun times!). But our favorite place was Grimaldi’s Pizzeria in Old Town Scottsdale. We ate there three nights and loved it every time.

(These are from our drive home, part of which took us through the Petrified Forest National Park)

When all was said and done, I did a lot of reading, a lot of relaxing and a lot of sunbathing. Ten days was enough – enough to get me ready to head back to work and start full-force into my fall semester of school. Now the work begins…but I am excited. I am moving into the final year of my masters program, fall will be on its way soon (one can only hope) and the future is looking bright (especially after ten days away).

My heart is full. Hurray for Phoenix 2010!

From → Photography, Travel

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

