Skip to content

life & laundry

September 17, 2010

– Today is Friday which means yesterday was Thursday. I don’t like Thursdays. They make me feel like it’s Friday when it’s not. And yesterday was a long Thursday. It wasn’t a bad Thursday, just a long one. And there was work to do and studying to do and cleaning to do and laundry to do. All of which I don’t really mind and all of which give me a sense of satisfaction once they are complete.

But I still don’t like Thursdays.

– But today is Friday. It’s the last day of the work week, the last day of staring at my computer screen for 8 hours straight, the last day of willing myself to produce and be creative and accomplish and… (happy sigh)

Oh, it really doesn’t matter because it’s friday ūüôā

– The forecast for the next week is “hot and dry”. Well, I can truthfully say I am happy about the “dry” part! Good grief. I don’t even have naturally curly hair and¬†this humidity and stuck-in-between-summer-and-fall is¬†killing me.¬† You know it’s September when: you turn the AC on…and then off…and then on…and then off again…over.and.over on the way to work.¬†

Pick a season. That’s all I have to say.

РI gave myself a pedicure last  night. Somehow I thought navy blue with a sparkly top coat would look cool. I laugh. Now. Not a good combination. Not for me. It looked like a box of Halloween crayons blew up on my toes. So I took it off and switched to OPI Cajun Shrimp .

The world is right again.

– Next Tuesday I will have finished my first month of my fall semester. I can only hope that the rest of the semester goes by this fast. Although sometimes I feel like a little kid again, trying to clean my room. I get¬†overwhelmed so I just sit down in the middle of it all and start reading old birthday cards or looking at pictures or playing with¬†a doll. Well, I don’t do that now, but I still get overwhelmed like that sometimes.¬†Although I have learned to persevere when I feel like procrastinating, to dig in when I feel like living in denial, I do¬†still revert every once in a while.¬†

Now where did I put my doll?

¬†– Here’s a quote one of my professor’s used this week:

“Don’t say you don’t have enough time. You have exactly the same number of hours per day that were given to Helen Keller, Louis Pasteur, Michelangelo, Mother Teresa, Leonardo da Vinci, Thomas Jefferson and Albert Einstein.”

~ H. Jackson Brown Jr., author of Life’s Little Instruction Book

From → Personal

4 Comments
  1. Becky permalink

    Great post! Remember its O.P.I.! Haha! Luv ya!

  2. Do you do Cubbies?? I saw the polo in your laundry basket lol. I was an LIT years ago; those kids are so fun! ūüôā

Leave a Reply

