Skip to content

core role

October 15, 2010

The other day I came across a few things that seemed to be connected. I guess that was the “theme” for the day.

So, I thought I would put them all in a post and share them.

It’s hard not to have my country on my mind these days. We are less than three weeks away from the General Elections (Nov. 2nd). Sometimes I would rather not think about the elections, the heavy meaning they hold for the months and years ahead. It is a huge thing.

And it is a huge privilege we hold as citizens to be able to participate in such a democratic process. It is all I have ever known. I pray I never take it for granted.

Despite being steeped in politics daily, it does not consume me. But I do stay informed and I do take part (I can hardly help either one). And I am still moved when I hear the Star Spangled Banner. If anything, my close contact with government has given me a greater appreciation for its core role.

And we, as citizens, need to keep its core role the core role – and not add to it or misrepresent it or alter it. We have a responsibility to uphold it.

I liked this quote I read about the core role of the Constitution:

“The core role of the Constitution does not seek to prescribe rules of political philosophy for determining the wisdom of public policy; rather, it sets forth rules of law that establish the limits of the power of government.” – Dr. Michael Farris (Read more here.)

We have to keep the core role the core role.

Another thought: it seems those in our nation who do take a stand to preserve the core role of government are ridiculed and made out to be lunatics and extremists. I was reading about the Prophet Jeremiah. His countrymen (and pretty much everyone else) ridiculed him and made him out to be a lunatic and extremist.

This was his response

“Oh, God-of-the-Angel-Armies, no one fools you. You see through everyone, everything.” – Jeremiah 20: 12a, The Message

Or in Paul’s words (because the same thing took place in his day): “God is not mocked.” – Galations 6:7, NKJV

Jeremiah kept speaking out. Paul kept speaking out. We, as citizens, need to keep speaking out. We know the truth – that we aren’t lunatics or extremists. God knows the truth.

And the best way we can speak out is by going to the polls. I don’t want to forget that. Words mean nothing apart from actions.

On the subject of judges – and upholding (and keeping straight) the core role they fulfill in government –  the following verses got me thinking:

 God calls the judges into his courtroom, he puts all the judges in the dock.

“Enough! You’ve corrupted justice long enough,
      you’ve let the wicked get away with murder.
   You’re here to defend the defenseless,
      to make sure that underdogs get a fair break;
   Your job is to stand up for the powerless,
      and prosecute all those who exploit them.”

 Ignorant judges! Head-in-the-sand judges!
      They haven’t a clue to what’s going on.
   And now everything’s falling apart,
      the world’s coming unglued.

 “I commissioned you judges, each one of you,
      deputies of the High God,
   But you’ve betrayed your commission
      and now you’re stripped of your rank, busted.”

 O God, give them their just deserts!
      You’ve got the whole world in your hands!

– Psalm 82, The Message

Yes, God sees through everyone and everything. No, He will not be mocked.

It’s not rocket science.

The core role is the core role. Period.

I only hope and pray that my actions match my words. That I will never shirk my responsibility to uphold the core role of government in this nation. That I always take a stand no matter what the world around me thinks.

If government has a core role, I as a citizen do as well. 

And – as the saying goes – the chain is only as strong as its weakest link.

From → Personal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

