Skip to content

on rainy days

October 23, 2010

On rainy days I open up the door to the patio like it is now. I like to hear the rain falling and feel the cool air freshen up the apartment. It makes me feel cozy and content to stay inside, to study (I really have gotten a lot of school done today!) and read and bake and drink hot cider and burn a candle and take a nap and wear my comfy sweats and watch a movie and do a hundred other things that rainy days make me want to do.

On rainy days I like to make tomato soup and grilled cheese. Here’s the recipe for The Best Grilled Cheese: take two halves of a thick roll (like Ciabatta bread or something similar), slather them with butter (so it melts and sinks all the way down to the crust), add lots of shredded cheddar cheese and broil until the cheese starts to bubble and turn a golden brown. Perfection. That’s what I’m making for dinner tonight.

On rainy days I feel like rearranging my room. And, even though I just went through my closet, I feel like doing it again. I have that urge to clear things out and change them up. Sort of like letting the fresh air fill the apartment and push all the stale air out. Rainy days just make me want to dust and clean for some reason.

On rainy days I don’t want to wear makeup. I don’t want to go out anywhere. I had plans to run a few errands, but I’ve talked myself out of it. It’s been a long time since a day has passed without having to run somewhere. Today will be a “go nowhere” day. Because I don’t have to and I don’t want to. I will enjoy the feeling of just being at home. And save a little gas while I’m at it.

On rainy days, what’s your favorite thing to do (or not do)?

From → Personal

2 Comments
  1. I love rainy days too, Hannah! I love to sleep in and listen to the rain on the roof. I love to curl up on a comfy couch with a cozy blanket, read a book, and eat popcorn. I love to stay home!

  2. Staying at home is perfection:) I agree with all the above!

Leave a Reply

