Skip to content

if not now, when?

December 11, 2010

“The Lord sat enthroned at the Flood. And the Lord sits enthroned forever. The Lord will give strength to His people; the Lord will bless His people with peace.” ~Psalm 29:10

If not now, when?

That’s the question that has been going through my mind.

Recently I have had opportunity to put my faith into action. To believe what I’ve said that I believe all my life.

When life does a 180. When circumstance change without warning. When how I thought things were is suddenly not how they are.

That’s where the rubber meets the road. That’s an opportunity to respond in faith. That’s a Job Moment – the moment that comes to everyone at some point, maybe more than once in life.

The moment where I have the choice to either “curse God and die” or raise my hands in praise-filled surrender and say, “The Lord gives and the Lord takes away. Blessed be the name of the Lord.”

This is it. If not now, when?

It must be now.  By God’s grace, it is now. Here. Staring me in the face, waiting. Waiting for my response.

And it is this:

The Lord gives and the Lord takes away. Blessed be the name of the Lord.

I open my arms in surrender, in expectancy. Wherever, whenever, however. Here I am. Completely Yours.

I want my heart to be soft, my heart to be wide open, my heart to be full of love, my heart to be willing. Ready. Waiting. For whatever You have.

“You are my hiding place; You shall preserve me from trouble; You shall surround me with songs of deliverance.” ~Psalm 32:7

From → Personal

6 Comments
  1. love you hannah!!!

  2. Hannah, your willingness to turn toward the Lord, and put your faith into action right in the middle of all of this is such an encouragement to me…thank you.

    I’m praying for you tonight!

    • God is faithful because there is one thing I know – this response is completely by His grace. And I need the prayers, thank you so much for being my friend through this.

  3. Christine permalink

    Hopped over here from Resolved2Worship. Hope you don’t mind. :o)

    Just had to tell you what an incredible blessing your comment over at R2W is to me. (He restored Mary’s losses, too. He didn’t make it like they had never happened, but He restored them in His way, in His time.) And then reading this post which goes right along with the same thought. God really spoke to me through your thoughts. Sometimes there is a lot of pain in life. When precious people are taken away, babies who’ll never be born in this earth, loss of health, trust, or whatever it is, it is so easy to feel devastated. Peace. Such a simple word. I have to admit though, that peace is not what has been reigning in my heart a lot of the time. When you said that, “He didn’t make it like they had never happened, but He restored them in His way, in His time”, a light bulb went on for me. As if God is saying, “It’s not for nothing, I have a plan, just rest….and trust”.

    Many blessings to you this Christmas season, and may God restore whatever losses you are facing and give you JOY.

    Christine

    • Christine, thank you so much for stopping by! Your encouraging words came at just the right time. I am glad that I can be an encouragement to you as well. Thank you for your Christmas blessing…and I pray the same for you – restored losses and complete joy and peace that He is reigning still. Merry Christmas! ~Hannah

Leave a Reply

