Skip to content

christmas cookies

December 13, 2010

I like mine with almond extract. They just don’t seem like Christmas cookies without it.

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 egg

1 cup butter, softened

1/2 tsp. almond extract (or more 🙂 )

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cream of tartar

Mix the first five ingredients until smooth. Stir in the remaining ingredients. Cover and place in freezer for 20-30 minutes until firm.

Heat oven to 375F. Divide dough into halves. Roll each half out to 1/4inch thick on a lightly floured surface. Cut into desired shapes (trees, snowmen, stars, etc). Place them on lightly greased cookie sheets and bake until edges are light brown (7-8 minutes).

Frosting: I just eyed this and made it a little bit too runny for my taste. Basically, 1 cup powered sugar, about 1 tbl. milk and 1/4 vanilla extract. Just add more powered sugar if it’s too runny. Although, it’s easier to add more milk because it’s too thick then it is to add more powdered sugar because it’s too runny.

Don’t ask me why.

I found basic food coloring at Target. It was in the spice aisle. Is that strange to anyone but me??? I thought for sure it would be on the baking aisle. Glad I asked.

They wouldn’t be Christmas cookies without colored icing. No, not the same. Just like with the almond extract, it’s funny how the details make traditions.

From → Personal, Recipes

2 Comments
  1. oooh, we’re making these tonight with the kids and a girlfriend from church…I just got my batch of dough in the fridge to chill. Only I’m out of almond flavoring…thankfully the kids won’t know the difference! =)

Leave a Reply

