Skip to content

new year, new vision

December 31, 2010

“The will of God is never exactly what you expect it to be. It may seem to be much worse, but in the end it’s going to be a lot better and a lot bigger.” ~Elisabeth Elliot (via Resolved2Worship)

“Forget about what’s happened! Don’t keep going over old history. Be alert! Be present! I’m about to do something brand new. It’s bursting out. Don’t you see it? There it is! I’m making a road in the desert and rivers in the badlands.” Isaiah 43:18-19, The Message (via LPM)

This week I packed up my stuff and left my office for the last time. I took my Christmas bells that were hanging on the doorknob, put them in my bag and closed the door. The bells made a light jingling sound as I walked away. And I had the strangest sensation – as if I was Kathleen Kelly in You’ve Got Mail. I could picture her closing up her shop for the last time, the bell that had been over the door lightly jingling as she walked away.

I don’t share the same degree of sadness as Kathleen Kelley, but it is still sad. It’s been fun and this job was such an amazing blessing – a miraculous provision from God – at just the right time, for just the right season. I smile when I think about how God worked it all out. I didn’t know it at the time (although it didn’t take me long to realize) that I had the perfect job with the perfect bosses. I couldn’t have asked for more and I never took it for granted. Walking into work most days, I would smile and say “thank you” in my heart.

Those two words are what kept coming to mind as I drove away yesterday, my last day finished. Thank You. For so many things all tied up into one thing that was my job. And those two words are not the same as “the end”…but more of a connecting phrase, more of “and then…” Because now I am moving on to something new. Even though it is bittersweet, a step outside what has become so familiar and a whole lot of change in such a short period of time, I am excited. And I say “thank you” once again for God’s miraculous provision – at just the right time, for just the right season. Life is not dull for me right now.

In view of the New Year, I wanted to take a moment and type out some of my goals for 2011. Some are small; others are pretty lofty. But one word keeps reverberating off my mind and my heart when I think of the 12 months ahead: VISION. Oh, God, please grant me vision:

*to see as You see

*to know Your heart more

*to take risks in spite of fear

*to hope for things I haven’t seen

*to reach past the edges

*to find joy in unexpected places

* to accomplish everything You want me to accomplish

Some of my goals for 2011:

Graduate in May with my M.A. in Journalism, rent a house (with a garage), participate in the LMP Scripture Memory Team for 2011, read through the Bible, sponsor another girl through Gospel for Asia, find a publisher for my book, read one book a month (suggestions anyone?), drive the west coast from Seattle to San Diego and go on my Australia trip, go to the zoo, do a couple Bible studies, post 3-5 x’s a week on the blog, play racquetball/walk 2-3 x’s a week.

There are more. Those are just some I wanted to share here, to get them down in type. A few things I am striving for, working towards. I am not sure what shape this new year will take. This past year was a mixture of the expected and unexpected. It was one of mountains and valleys, as most are. But I was blessed.

I made it through three more semesters of my masters program, turned 26, flew to Houston w/Mom & Lydia,  NYC with Mom and drove to Phoenix with the whole family, marked a year and a half at our apartment, two years at one job and two years at the second (evening) job, along with many other adventures.

I am blessed. Blessed to have seen another year and be standing on the edge of a new one. A New Year. 2011.

(Voyage of the Dawn Treader and lunch at Tapwerks. New Year 2011.)

Cheers!

From → Personal, Travel

4 Comments
  1. So where will you be working now? May you have a blessed new year friend!!! 🙂

  2. Debra permalink

    Wow, sounds like a really new chapter is unfolding for you. Wishing you the best in the New Year!

    • Yes! I am excited. It’s so good to see your two little ones on FB! They are adorable! Happy New Year to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

