Skip to content

i don’t like winter

January 6, 2011

So, I do things that help me through the trio of dark, dreary and cold months that are January, February & March.

The first being: take advantage of gorgeous, blue-skied days whenever I can. Today is one of those days. And I fully intend to go for a long walk. Tomorrow will be 60F. I plan to soak it up while I can. Because the weekend and Monday are calling for “dark, dreary and cold”…or – should I say – absolutely freezing.

Something else I do is cook. I cook for other reasons, too. Namely because I love food. And because cooking is a form of stress relief to me.

Last night I made pasta w/spinach & bacon and garlic bread.

I love recipes that allow me to use spinach in creative ways 😉

Here’s the recipe in case you want to give it a try:

Pasta with Spinach & Bacon

1 tablespoon butter

1 cup shredded mozzarella

1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

1/2 clove garlic, minced

1/2 tsp. salt

2 slices bacon, cooked & crumbled

2 cups fresh spinach

2 cups pasta, cooked al dente, drained but not rinsed

Begin heating water to cook the pasta. Cook bacon and remove to a paper towel to drain. Saute garlic in the bacon grease (if there’s a lot of grease, drain it so there’s just about a tablespoon remaining). Add spinach and toss until wilted.

Cook pasta, drain, do not rinse and return to pot. Add butter and cover until melted. Add spinach, crumbled bacon, cream, mozzarella and salt. Stir until cheese is melted. Serve hot with garlic bread. (About 2 servings)

I also love to burn candles that have a tropical scent. Try Hawaiian Breeze by Glade. It’s brightening my bedroom right now and I love it!

It’s also nice to go to Starbucks, grab some coffee (my recent favorite is their cappuccino) and read a book.

Or plan a trip. I’ll be pulling out the atlas soon to decide on the route for my West Coast trek. It’s fun to chart the course, add in all the little details that make a trip so memorable, decide on places to stay, good restaurants to try, etc. That always makes warm weather and longer days seem so much closer.

From → Personal, Recipes

2 Comments
  1. Christine permalink

    That pasta looks soooo good! I’ve printed the recipe and will try it out soon!

Leave a Reply

