Skip to content

a calling to live

January 20, 2011

I read an excerpt from Os Guinness’ book “The Call” for one of my classes.

Guinness writes about how different people view God’s calling. At one point he says: “Others feel that, without a special call, they have had no call at all. So they wait around for guidance and become passive, excusing themselves by saying they have had ‘no call.’”

This could have been me. I’ve never had a “special” call that set the course for my whole existence. Unlike some who knew exactly who they were before 8th grade was over, I had no idea. I still don’t really. What I do know is that I am doing what I am supposed to be to doing for this season.

For me, life has been a series of “calls” – all different and all special. For me, it has been simply a calling to live. And so I have, by God’s grace. Sometimes it hasn’t been easy. I wish I just knew…knew that I was supposed to be a doctor or a teacher or a pilot.

Instead I’ve only known that I was supposed to go to Russia for seven months when I was 19 years old. That I was then supposed to come home and earn my bachelors degree (still had no clue what I was supposed to do, so I went for a Liberal Studies concentration). That I was supposed to go to Africa twice, work for a non-profit ministry for two years, work in state government and start another part-time job coaching students who were earning their bachelor degrees online. That I was supposed to get out of state government, go back into state government and start a masters program in journalism.

This past December I thought maybe God was calling me out of state government again, but He didn’t. I’m still in state government, still coaching students. I’m working on the last semester of my masters. I’m still simply living life.

I don’t know what’s next. I think about it and pray about it all the time. After my  masters, what’s next? There is one thing I do know: my calling will still be there – the calling to live. One step, one day at a time.

And when I think about it, I’m glad I didn’t know what I was supposed to be before 8th grade ended. Does anyone really know? They think they do. And perhaps they do. Others – as Guinness pointed out – don’t do anything because they think they’ve never been “called.” But I believe that the calling to live is the first calling that each of us (and all of us) have to answer whether we have another calling (doctor, pilot, teacher anyone?) or not.

Although my life thus far has been anything but passive, for so long I have worried that I was missing something. Now I know I’m not. I’m finding peace in the fact that I am fulfilling my calling. Every day when I get out of bed and go about my day, I’m fulfilling my calling to live.

From → Personal

2 Comments
  1. That was so good, Hannah. I have struggled so much lately because I don’t have a calling. But I have begun to realize that my calling is to know God and live the life He leads me through. I have to admit that it’s tough for me to grasp that because, like you, I feel like I’m missing something. I realize now that I have spent the last few years searching when the answer is right in front of me. My calling is here and now. So now I just need to live it! Thanks so much for the reminder. It makes me feel so much better knowing that I am not the only one!!

    • So glad you were encouraged, Lauren! You are not alone. Absolutely not. I would venture to guess there are a lot of people who feel this way and just don’t realize it or don’t admit it. I have to say the pieces started really solidifying for me as I was writing the post. There are so many things that don’t make sense until I start writing about them!

Leave a Reply

