Skip to content

weekend travelers

January 24, 2011

I almost titled this post “snow” because I finally got to see my first real snow of the winter. And, contrary to what we may experience here, snow does not have to be preceded by ice. I repeat: does not.

The snow came and went pretty fast, but it was beautiful as it came down. I think it was fitting – a soft, quiet, beautiful, pure white snowfall on the day of my Grandma’s memorial service.

The service was beautiful, too. It was perfect actually. I know that it really honored the Lord and Grandma. I cried. I cried mostly for those Grandma left behind and the fact that another significant change has come. When someone passes away, life is never the same. The change is more severe and felt more deeply by her sons and even more so by my grandpa… but I felt it in my heart, too.

I think I also cried because Grandma made it. Eternity is no longer unknown to her. She has walked through that doorway – she sees, she hears, she feels, she has tasted – and she knows. No more wondering. No more longing. No more of anything that would cast even the smallest shadow; all is light. The Light.

It was a quick trip, but a good trip. I got to pack my little, red roller bag full and pull it through the airport. I got to people watch in the terminal and drink coffee (lots of coffee) and read magazines and listen to my iPod and have gingerale and pretzels at 31,000 ft.

I got to see the top of the clouds instead of just the bottom and feel the thrust of the engines at take off (please tell me what kind of lunatic tears up at take off because they are so excited to be flying?!?!?! One more reason I know I love to travel…) and the rush of the breaks at landing. I got to imagine that I was going somewhere super exotic – totally new and exciting – just for a little while.

And even though Colorado isn’t super exotic and not exactly new, it was still exciting. My desire to travel was satisfied.

Well, at least until next month…

2 Comments
  1. Christine permalink

    I just about laughed when I read…

    “please tell me what kind of lunatic tears up at take off because they are so excited to be flying?!?!?”

    …because I get that excited too. It is exhilarating!!! I love any kind of flying. My husband is an Air Force pilot and I actually got to go on a ride. We flew about 35 feet from another plane. Huge thrill in my life!

    I know I never link to my site, due to the fact that we are military and it is private for security reasons. But, if you should want to “meet” me, how I have been able to get to know you through your blog, feel free to e-mail me and I’ll send you an invite. If not, no hard feelings at all. Just thought I’d offer.

    May God continue to give you the grace you need as you are grieving your Grandma. And praise God that she is walking on streets of gold!

  2. That is so cool, Christine – I flew in a helicopter for the first time this past June and it was definitely one of the highlights of my life so far. I LOVED it, couldn’t stop smiling.

    I just sent you an email, let me know if you don’t get it. I would love to get to know you better!

    Thank you so much for your encouragement and words of blessing. I’m so glad we’ve been able to connect.
    ~Hannah

Leave a Reply

