Skip to content

these days

January 30, 2011

I decided to write before the work week begins. Before things get crazy. Well, maybe not crazy, but at least too full to sit down and write a blog post. I always make it my goal to catch up on the weekends. To catch up on school and my accounts and exercise and sleep and grocery shopping and ironing and odd little things like filling up my car with gas or painting my nails or cleaning out my inbox(s).

Catching up with all of the little things helps me feel like I have a head start on the week ahead. I feel, in a way, that I am ready to face what comes my way. I feel prepared for a Monday. Because we all know what Mondays are generally like. I try not to go into them expecting the worst, but somehow it usually tends to happen. I’m not sure what it is about Mondays. So, tying up loose ends, figuring out what I’m going to wear for the week, having my lunch already prepared and my travel mug set out to make hot tea for the drive to work… well, that helps.

Today Mom and Dad came over for lunch. They brought the beautiful roses. I made Mexican soup and an Apple Cake w/Browned Butter Frosting for dessert. And coffee with my new french press. It all turned out well and we had a good time together. I”m excited about having the roses to look at over the long, cold week ahead. And when I say cold, I mean cold. Apparently we’re supposed to get the storm of the century on Tuesday. We’ll see. The weather is one of those things you can never count on.

If a storm does hit and if it’s bad, we’re prepared 😉 Plenty of food in the pantry and fridge and plenty of candles. I can’t say I’m prepared mentally though. Yesterday’s 75F weather seems like a distant dream  now. Although I’m grateful for every moment I was able to spend in the sunshine – it felt like May, it was almost surreal. Now I am back to my turtlenecks and boots 😉

The message at church this morning was very good. A guest speaker gave the sermon and he was very timely and to the point. He posed these four questions from Romans 1: 14-17 (each second question is a paraphrase):

vs. 14: Do I see myself as a debtor? Do I see myself as owing my life to the world?

vs. 15: Am I ready to go to Rome? Am I ready to die for what I believe?

vs. 16: Am I ready to see the power of God? Am I in a place where God can do the extraordinary through me?

vs. 17: What am I trusting God for today? What drives me to my knees in prayer?

The guest speaker said that taking risks in our walk with God leads to greater dependency on God which leads to greater intimacy in our relationship with God.

I needed that reminder. I want to be a risk taker. I don’t want to leave anything undone that God is calling me to do – now or ever. God calls and then I must answer. If I seek His will and He reveals it, I must act on it.

How many people stop at receiving His revealed will? How many people never act? I don’t want to be guilty of not acting.

Risk. Dependence. Intimacy. That is what I am after.

From → Personal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

