Skip to content

february and a fresh perspective

February 2, 2011



Recap of January Goals:

– Work my way through Kay Arthur’s Lord, Teach Me To Pray in 28 Days 
I still have a week and two days left of the study. It’s taken me a little longer than I thought.

Officially begin my new job

Keep up with my evening job

Complete the first 4 weeks of my last semester

– Finish rough drafts of five chapters for my book
Almost there…have to finish two drafts and then I’ll be done!

– Play racquetball w/Mom 2 x’s a week; walk/Pilates 2 x’s a week
Mom and I played racquetball an average of once a week and I walked an average of once a week. I could blame it on the weather, but I won’t 😉

Post 3 x’s a week on the blog
I actually averaged 4 x’s a week.

Start Rene Gutteridge’s Boo Series, just for fun

– Set the dates for my 2011 trips and start planning them

Take my vitamins every day
Does almost every day count?

—-

February Goals:

– Finish the Kay Arthur study

– Turn in my chapter drafts

– Make it to the 8 week mark in my last semester

– Play racquetball 2 x’s a week and walk 2 x’s a week and be able to do five full push-ups in a row (sad confession that this is really hard for me)

– Write one hand-written letter

– Go to Austin for a weekend away

– Get three more indoor plants for the apartment

—-

Never done. That’s how I feel most of the time. Even when I’m relaxing, trying to unwind. I feel like I’m not done, like I’ll never be done. There will always be something to do – there is always something to do. I have to keep moving, keep producing, keep accomplishing, keep checking off my list.

It’s good to set goals. I couldn’t keep myself from setting goals anyways – it’s like breathing to me. I guess that means I’m a Type-A???? Goals keep me on track, keep me moving forward. They motivate me and inspire me to reach higher and do better and be more.

But there are moments when I wish my drive to set goals wasn’t so strong. Moments when I wish that I could fully relax at the end of the day with the thought that I have done my best – no matter what didn’t get done yesterday or what I wasn’t able to check off my “to do” list today or what still has to be done tomorrow. 

I’m not sure how to counteract this feeling of “never done.” I suppose it’s a simple day-by-day practice of reminding myself that – as long as at the end of the day I can say I’ve done my best – I am done. Tomorrow is a new day. The past is simply that: the past. In this moment, I can rest. I can celebrate what I have accomplished.

It is simple to type, but harder to actually do. The lists of goals above only reflect a part of my life. All of the other myriad of things that take place in a month’s time go unrecorded – the tasks finished and the mountains conquered. Perhaps it would be nice to also make a list at month’s end of the mountains conquered (times of rest and reasons for celebration).

Here goes…

– Jan 3 – 7: a full week with no work/no school (that didn’t involve taking leave). A first since I started my first full-time job in August 2005.

– Jan 17: a day off for MLK Day

– Jan 22 & 23: a fast but good weekend trip to CO

– Jan 26: a gift box of Aveda product from my hair stylist just because

– Jan 28a: a french press and coffee from a good friend

– Jan 28b: an email from my university confirming I’ve been cleared for graduation

– Jan 28c: evening w/Mom – a nice walk, dinner, Starbucks and shopping at Target (oh, and I got my AT&T {long story} issue resolved!)

– Jan 29: a beautiful, 75F day – long, long walk and Passionberri

So, here’s to another month with its tasks to accomplish and mountains to conquer. With its call to hard work balanced with times of rest and celebration.

January is done.

On to February.

It is God’s Spirit that changes the atmosphere of our way of looking at things, and then things begin to be possible which before were impossible. ~Oswald Chambers, “My Utmost for His Highest”

4 Comments
  1. Christine permalink

    Congrats on accomplishing a lot of your January goals!

    For the past couple of days, I’ve been making a list of goals of things to get done the next day. It helps so much to write them out and know when I’m getting up which things I will accomplish that day. The days can all run together so easily when Dan is gone and I hate getting up and wondering how to fill the long day. So much better with a list to go off of that includes both work and fun things!

    Good luck with Feb’s goals!

  2. I understand making lists 😉 It really helps me stay focused to…I understand why that would help get you through the deployment! And I agree about making a list of work and fun things – so wise! There has to be balance.

  3. Did you like Boo? Rene Gutteridge is one of my favorite authors in the Christian fiction genre. Her “Hazard” series is also pretty funny if you can laugh about homeschool stereotypes.

    Well, I wish I had more of your drive! My (one) goal for February is to go through all of my photos from the last two years, sort them and get a sampling uploaded to snapfish and prints ordered….I’m overwhelmed!

  4. Actually I couldn’t get into it. Since my goal was to “start” the series, I checked it off my list. I did read 4 or 5 chapters of the first book, but it just didn’t click with me. I did really enjoy her “Hazard” series though because, yes, I can laugh about homeschool stereotypes 😉 Haha.

    That is a great goal! And a big one. I know how overwhelming it can be! I would love to see all the pics when you’re done! Have you thought of just making them into a book so you don’t have to worry about prints when you’re done?

Leave a Reply

