Skip to content

deja vu: {snow day}

February 9, 2011

Yes, that’s my car in the parking lot. No, the storm wasn’t as bad as they predicted. Most of the snow fell up north. We did still get 4-5 inches… and a snow day 🙂

In fact, I think I could get used to this. Having a day off mid-week is kind of nice. To catch up on: sleep, coffee drinking, movie watching, magazine reading, school work, cleaning and other miscellaneous things.

(clockwise from top left)

1. I went to Home Depot for a snow shovel. It was the 5th place I called and the only one thus far to have any kind of shovel. They didn’t have the normal snow shovels in stock (apparently all 442 had flown off the shelves the day before), so I bought a good ‘ol “I’m going to dig a ditch” type shovel. I figured we could make it work. I grabbed the shovel and then I grabbed this plant. The tag calls it “Song of India.” Hmmm…not sure about that… BUT I think it looks very springish on our coffee table in the living room.

2. Currently my magazines of choice. I was happy that both came in the mail before our snow day. I like to have an excuse to relax and stare at beautiful pictures, yummy recipes and pretty clothes 😉

3. Sweet rolls with an orange glaze. Not home-made. The can actually popped when I tore off the paper; they usually don’t pop for me. These were delicious.

4. Sweet, juicy mango. Perfection. The girl that checked me out at Wal-Mart didn’t know what it was, said she’d never seen anyone buy one before. I guess they can be a little intimidating (and expensive), but these weren’t bad on both counts. I just set mine in a bowl on the kitchen counter to ripen and it worked quite nicely.

—-

From my reading this week:

Young people, especially those in college who should know better, frequently fail to realize that men and women who wish to accomplish anything must apply themselves to tasks of tremendous magnitude.

This means that men and women who hope to make a real contribution to American life must prepare themselves to tackle big jobs, and the interesting fact is that no college or university in the world can give anyone the specific education he will ultimately need.

Adults who are unwilling to reeducate themselves periodically are doomed to mediocrity.

~ “When Does Education Stop?” by James Michener

We look for visions from heaven and for earth-shaking events to see God’s power… Yet we never realize that all the time God is at work in our everyday events and in the people around us. If we will only obey, and do the task that He has placed closest to us, we will see Him.

One of the most amazing revelations of God comes to us when we learn that it is in the everyday things of life that we realize the magnificent deity of Jesus Christ.

~Oswald Chambers, “My Utmost for His Highest”

—-

From my playlist this week:

“Everybody” ~Ingrid Michaelson

“Come Home” ~Luminate

“Shine” ~David Crowder Band (this is an awesome video)

—-

This evening holds a little more school, making Valentines, making dinner, watching a movie, painting my nails and getting to bed by 10pm at least 😉

From → Personal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

