Skip to content

bridging the gap to spring

February 12, 2011


Spring doesn’t officially begin until March 20th.

That’s just about five weeks away.

So, I’ve come up with five ways (one for each week) to bridge the gap to spring:

1. Try a new kind of exercise.

My pick is Pilates. At least once a week I grab my mat and spend 15 min working out. It’s not PX90, but it helps me unwind. And I can do it rain or shine for zero $$.

Other ideas: yoga, spinning, zumba, jump rope

2. Make a fruit smoothie.

Here’s an easy recipe I tried the other day:

1/2 banana
1/2 cup yogurt (I used peach)
3/4 blueberries, fresh or frozen
1 leaf of kale, washed and torn
1 cup orange juice
1/2 cup milk or cream
Protein powder

This makes plenty. As in: it’s enough for two people.

P.S. You can’t taste the kale and it’s a great source of Vitamins K, A & C.

Other recipes: blueberry, cantalope-lime, carrot-pinneapple

3. Buy an indoor plant.

Home Depot or Lowes have some great options. I bought mine at Home Depot.

Added benefit: cleaner air in your home 😉

4. Give yourself a pedicure.

Of course, I love to get one instead of give myself one, but – in the interest of time and $$ – I’ll settle for an at-home job.

Favorite colors: oh, cabana boy by orly, cajun shrimp by o.p.i and pink promenade by n.y.c.

5. Plan a trip to somewhere warm.

Preferably with a beach. I love the beach. We’re thinking Panama City, maybe Destin. We’ve settled on the dates and the budget, now to book our room and flights. Florida, here I come.

Other ideas: a day trip, a lunch/shopping date with a friend, sitting outside at Starbucks with a good book and frappucino 😉

{Trip planning at my place with home-made spinach soup for lunch}

From → Personal

2 Comments
  1. Christine permalink

    Absolutely gorgeous pictures!!! I love it!

Leave a Reply

