Skip to content

austin. 2011.

February 24, 2011

Our weekend trip to Austin, TX was quick but leisurely at the same time. The drive up there wasn’t too bad, although the older I get the more I have trouble with feeling carsick. Which is no fun if you have a lot of reading to get done for school or a couple of magazines that you had been looking forward to perusing.

We stayed downtown at the Courtyard Marriott and it was nice. We had dinner on 6th Street at the Iron Cactus. Mom and I split the fish tacos, Lydia got shrimp tacos and Dad got some sort of burrito. We sat on the roof/patio because the weather was pretty mild. The sunset was pretty behind the skyline.

The next morning we woke up leisurely and Dad went to Starbucks (there’s one attached to the Marriott) and brought us girls our coffee while we were getting ready for the day. Then we headed out to Annie’s for breakfast – a little, up-scale yet quaint and laid-back café a short walk from the hotel.

Oh, my goodness. The food was good. The service and the ambiance were wonderful. So good and so wonderful, in fact, that we ended up going back that night for dinner. We couldn’t help it. Sometimes when you find a good place you just have to stick with it.

After walking to the convention center so Dad and Lydia could pick up their packets for the race the next day, we made our way back to the hotel. And I grabbed my reading for school and headed down to Starbucks. Two hours and two cappuccinos later and I was finished. Sometimes it helps for me to go somewhere where all I can do is focus on one thing. At home especially it seems like I sit down to study or work and a thousand things call my name.

The next morning Dad and Lydia were up by 5am. They headed out early to get a place at the starting line. Mom and I followed a little later, Starbucks in hand and our cameras ready. I have to say I wasn’t quite awake until a little after the race actually started, but all the bystanders cheering helped 😉

Mom and I took pictures of Dad and Lydia at three different points throughout the half marathon. We ended at the finish line and snapped away as they crossed at a little under 2 hours time. They beat their goal and both looked great.

So, it was a quick trip but a leisurely one at the same time – a nice change of scenery and pace.

2 Comments
  1. Christine permalink

    Sounds like you guys had such a wonderful weekend! Your and your mom’s smiles are identical. : )

Leave a Reply

