Skip to content

pink babe. life. the list.

February 25, 2011
The other day I spotted my well-worn teddy in my closet and decided to snap a few pictures of him for posterity’s sake.
 
I got Pink Babe from my Grandma Shirlee on my 1st birthday. He has been well loved. When I was little I took him everywhere. He truly used to be pink, but he’s been washed so many times the color is almost all gone.
 
I made the friendship bracelet on his left arm when I was ten years old and we were living in Oklahoma for the first time.
 
I still love him. Even if I don’t take him everywhere with me now 😉 
 
—-
 
My days are much slower than my evenings. My evenings are like a whirlwind – exercising, work, school, other projects and chores and errands. Last night was the first time since I started my master’s that I truly, completely felt overwhelmed. For just a moment I looked in the mirror and thought: I don’t have the strength for this. I’m not sure why because this is my lightest semester course wise.
 
I think it is a myriad of things, not just school. The mole hills that become mountains based on perspective. I think it’s just the fact that this is the home stretch for me on a couple of things. This is it. I don’t have another chance to finish strong.
 
And I feel guilty for feeling overwhelmed because I know I should be able to handle this, to take it all in stride. But sometimes my stride gets thrown off and catching up is tough. My elbow gets knocked while I’m trying to juggle everything and staggering to catch what’s falling is a stretch.
 
—-
 
“And His name will be the hope of all the world.” ~Matthew 12:21, NLT
 
—-
 
May is my “finish line” month. May is also my birthday month. So, I’ve put together a list – The List – of 55 things I want to do in the next two years (27 things for my 27th year and 28 things for my 28th year = 55 things). This idea came from a good friend of mine who made a list of 25 things for her 25th year and accomplished them all!
 
I started making my 27 list, but I couldn’t stop. I just kept thinking of things. Since I will be more free beginning June 1st than I have been in a long time, that is when I will really start focusing on The List. But I have done a few things already and will probably do a few more between now and the end of May.
 
I’ve made a new page on my blog just for The List so you can cheer me on as I check it off. Some things are big, some are very small. But they are all important to me. It’s amazing to me some of the dreams and desires I found in my heart when I simply took the time to write them down.
 
So, here’s to The List. Cheers. And cheers again 😉
4 Comments
  1. I am so thankful for you, how hard you work and the fact that you do things like make lists of the 55 things you want to do in the next two years. It inspires me to set goals and then do them! And it just makes you who you are and I like that person! 🙂

  2. Yes, Hannah, you are inspiring! I think that’s a great idea. Next year I am going to be 24 and that just so happens to be my favorite number. 😉 I have been trying to think of something memorable for that year, and I think this is just the thing. I will have to start making my own list…except I might get too excited and not be able to wait until my 24th year lol!

  3. You should do it, Lauren! I haven’t been able to wait for my 27th either. I figure if I get everything done, I’ll just make another list 😉

Leave a Reply

