Skip to content

seattle trip (2) [in pictures] part one

August 24, 2011


Clockwise from top left:

1. Reading material. The fall edition is always massive and this one was no exception.
2. Waiting for my first flight, so impatient to get in the air 😉
3. At the gate about to leave Salt Lake City on the second leg.
4. Flying over the sunset on the way to Seattle was absolutely breathtaking.

This past weekend was so dream-like, the beauty and the fullness of all it held is still sinking in.

It’s very difficult for me to express myself when it comes to something that I feel deeply or something/someone who has impacted me greatly. I try but the written word doesn’t seem to do it justice. And words (besides pictures) are my strongest form of communication. If they fail me, I have no recourse.

So it is with this weekend. I plan to write it all out – to put it in words even if the words pale in comparison to how I feel – but just know as you are reading that it’s just the tip of the iceberg. What lies beneath, unspoken, unwritten is much greater.

On Friday we headed west to the Hoh Rainforest. The day was absolutely beautiful. I tease Matt that I bring the sun whenever I come to Seattle 😉

On the way, we stopped at Lake Crescent to stretch our legs and soak in the gorgeous scenery. The water was so blue; I could almost imagine we were somewhere in Switzerland.



The Hoh Rainforest has been on our “to see” list since my first trip to Seattle. It was a lot drier than we expected (and had a few more mosquitoes 😉 ), but it was fun to take the nature loop and marvel at the crystal clear water (truly looked like glass) and the gigantic trees. It’s hard to tell how big the trees are except in the pics where we’re standing next to them.

We didn’t stay very long because it was getting late, we had a bit of a drive back and Matt wanted to make me dinner 😉 We made just one little detour…another stop at Lake Crescent where Matt proposed as the sun was beginning to set.

It was such a special moment. I couldn’t have imagined it any better. As the sun was beginning to sink, the blue water lapping at the rocky shore where we stood, Matt put his arms around me. He told me how much he loved me, slipped a gorgeous diamond ring on my left hand and asked me to marry him.

And I said “yes” to the man of my dreams. A man who loves the Lord with all of his heart and who loves me – the man I’ve been praying would come into my life at just the right time.

Matt, you are the most thoughtful, kind, patient and loving man I know. I can’t imagine my life without you. I can’t wait to marry you. I love you! ♥♥♥♥

And dinner was amazing. Matt made the best Chicken Parmesan, salad and garlic bread ever. It was perfect…especially by candle light 😉

Other special [random] memories from the day:

– a gigantic apple pancake for breakfast
– talking about anything and everything on the drive to the rain forest
– Starbucks for the drive home
– savoring the feel of a ring on my left hand 🙂

More to come…

From → Personal, Travel

4 Comments
  1. Christine permalink

    Awwww! So sweet! Your ring is beeeeeeeeauTiful! Can’t wait to see more pics. : )

  2. Congratulations on the engagement.=]
    Washington looks beautiful.

  3. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

