Skip to content

quick look back, long look forward

September 8, 2011


(From this weekend, sitting on the porch watching the rain)

I heard Chris Tomlin’s “I Lift My Hands” on the way into work this morning. A few lines in particular caught my heart:

As I pour out my heart,
These things I remember
You are faithful, God, forever.

Simple. Could be trite. Yet, looking back – remembering – nothing is more evident to me than God’s faithfulness. I have no reason to believe that He won’t be faithful forever. In fact, I have every reason to believe He will.

Looking back over my life – over the last year – over the last six months. Wow. I am in awe at God’s faithfulness. There have been hard times. Uncertain times. Good times. Really, really bad times.

I was thanking God this morning for His faithfulness through it all. Most of all, I was thanking Him that He has remained steadfast, blessing me with what He knows I need. Even though it hasn’t always been what I want.

I’m glad He hasn’t given into my every whim, my cries for comfort, for release, for “happiness” over the last several years. Love is acting in the best interest of another. And God has done that and is doing that in my life – faithfully.

That’s my quick look back.

Taking a long look forward now to all that lies ahead…

This summer has flown by – literally. Between the two of us, Matt and I have taken a total of five trips in the last 2 1/2 months. I fly to Seattle again soon, we take a road trip and then we take another road trip. October should be a little more settled – a little less flying, a little more feet on the ground (only literally, of course. I am still on Cloud 9 🙂 ).

Our latest trip was to Mississippi to spend time with Matt’s family. It was so much fun –  just a great time relaxing and enjoying fellowship and food. Of course 🙂 His parents, brother and extended family welcomed me so warmly into the family. We even got to open our first wedding gifts! 🙂

Here are some pictures (courtesy of Matt’s dad) from our weekend:


(With Matt’s parents)


(At a family get-together)


(On the back porch)


(At the airport, saying good-bye. I officially hate good-byes.)

I have one more picture to share – the only one I took with my camera the whole weekend. I woke up Saturday and found this at my bedroom door 🙂

I have never felt more loved, more blessed or more grateful. In just 53 short days I will become Matt’s wife. God’s faithfulness comes full circle once again. Wow.

Speaking of short days… Now fall is right around the corner. The days are slowly getting shorter. The mornings and evenings are finally – almost unbelievably – cool. I am ready to put up our autumn wreath, set some pumpkins out on the front porch and try out a couple new dishes like this and this.

Last night I completed my evening job that I’ve been working for the last 3 1/2 years. It’s a little strange to think about just because it’s been a part of my life for so long now. It has been such a huge blessing to me and has kept me going several times in several ways. It was time to let it go, but it will always have a place in my heart.

I am catching up this week, finding routine in the midst of change, frequent travel, packing/unpacking, wedding planning and work in this crazy-wonderful season of life.

The verse Matt and I are memorizing this week:

Neither height nor depth, nor any other created thing,
shall be able to separate us from the love of God
which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. ~Romans 8:39, NKJV

From → Personal

4 Comments
  1. This is so beautiful! I hardly know you and I’m excited for you!

    God has written an exquisite love story that is all your own. Thanks for sharing! I hope you’ve been tracking frequent flyer miles! 🙂

  2. Thanks so much, Caitlin! 🙂 I am beyond blessed. I’m actually going to check into the miles today 😉

  3. Christine permalink

    Dan and I memorized that same verse when we were engaged. : ) I love that! : )

    Love love LOVE all the pictures! You two just GLOW when you are together. Hope time goes fast till you can be together again! Enjoy the ache for each other just a little bit. As Dan and I say during our times apart….we only miss each other so much because we love each other so much. Therefore, we are thankful for the aching feeling just a little bit. : )

    • That’s so awesome, Christine! Love it! Just three days and I’ll be on a plane to Seattle again 😉 CAN’T WAIT!!! I understand what you mean about enjoying the ache – it is so true! Love ya, girl!

Leave a Reply

