Skip to content

just some words

October 19, 2011

I know, I know….

But can you blame me?

We’re two weeks out. 14 short days. Well, I guess “short” is relative. It’s flying by and then it isn’t. Anyone who’s ever waited for anything knows what I mean.

We’re staying busy. We moved Lydia out and moved Matt’s stuff in. It was like Christmas. Everything old is new again – it’s a chance to start over and I’m loving it. There have been boxes to open and sort through, decisions on what to keep and what to throw away, sell, refurbish. Decorating and rearranging, cleaning and organizing. Anyone who knows me, knows that kind of stuff is right up my alley 😉

It has been exciting for both of us to watch this house become our home. What a dream come true. Moving furniture, wading through piles of packing paper, finding creative ways to organize stuff and hanging pictures has never been more fun. Because now it’s ours. And no matter how many times we move in the future this will always be our first home together. Something you don’t ever forget.

Now that it’s almost here – this life together – it just seems natural. Like it was always meant to be…it just took time. More time than I thought it would and, I guess, that’s really the key. It took more time than I thought it would, but God knew.

This weekend I had my shower – a delightful evening with dear friends; it was the most wonderful time and exceeded everything I had wanted. I got my hair colored Saturday. I’ve slowly been piling things I want to pack into my big, green suitcase. I’m having fun spending gift cards 🙂

Today I listened to Christmas music at work and drank a cup of stress relief tea. Yes, it worked. Haha. Both elements were the soothing touch I needed to my afternoon as I have gradually unloaded all my thoughts and “to do’s” and things to buy and places to go onto a pad of legal paper. Sometimes it just helps me to unwind it all, write it down, pull it off the merry-go-round that is my brain right now.

Two weeks. All I can think is how grateful I am. In every way. To be standing on the threshold of this new season in life, to have a wonderful man like Matt to share my life with, to see how God has woven our hearts together and intertwined our lives long before we even had a clue.

And those are just some words I felt like typing out today. You get what you get with the wedding so close. Ha. In fact, this might be my last post on this blog. Who knows. I’ll be starting a new one for us.

And I don’t know about you, but the sound of that one word is pretty wonderful to me 🙂

From → Personal

4 Comments
  1. This is beautiful!

    Your next two weeks are going to be a whirlwind of stress, bliss, magic, and love. It’s going to be awesome! Many congratulations, best wishes, and blessings on you as you start your life of “us” with Matt.

  2. Thank you so much, Caitlin!!!! 🙂

  3. Jessica Kowalchuk permalink

    I am so excited for you and your Matt!

Leave a Reply

